For the most part, I don’t usually add color when I am tangling. Creating a black and white composition is very satisfying to me. With that said, I will admit that I sometimes play around with adding color or tangling in color. I have such a beautiful supply of color media that I need to use it more often and so I have been experimenting and thought I would share a few things I’ve done recently.

This mandella I did today – it’s done on cardstock and I just started making this tangle (I’m not sure of the name). When I had done enough I decided it would look good colored in. I am not a person who enjoys the adult coloring book phase that so many people are taking up, but I did enjoy making my own outline drawing to fill in with delightful colors.

image

Tangled and added color with Caran d’Ache colored pencils.

This creation is a spread in my art journal – it covers the two pages and I used a variety of things to add texture before adding the two mandellas that are tangled with colored pen and colored in with pencils.

image

This next one is what I created while fooling around with my set of Wink of Stella pens. These pens add sparkle which is hard to see in a photo. I started with the outline of the leaf and tangled inside that, added some color with watercolor pencils, then added the Wink of Stella tangling. I don’t think I am finished with this one yet. It’s been fun to go back to when I need to do some tangling. (Sorry about the poor lighting.)

image

The last one I am going to share is a water color I did of a sunflower. I am ashamed to say that I didn’t make a note of the YouTube video tutorial I followed to get this but if you’re interested in doing something like this it would be easy enough to search YouTube for just this type of tutorial. I am not very experienced with using water color – I think I laid it on a bit too thick – but it was fun to do and I will continue to create with this medium. This was also done in my art journal.

image

My practice in Zentangle has really opened up my creativity – I am more open to giving other medium a try just to see what works for me and what doesn’t. It has certainly been fun and, although, what I’ve done isn’t the best art in the world, it has been immensely satisfying and fulfilling to me and I think that is what should matter the most.

Tangle on, my friends!